13.3 C
Sunday, December 5, 2021

NSFAS 2020 Application Deadline Approaches

Students who do not have access to funding and who intend to study at a public university or TVET college in 2020, has just over a week before the National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) application cycle on closes on 30 November 2019.

As part of the intensified application drive, NSFAS has rolled out a regional “town to town” outreach intervention programme – to reach out to prospective beneficiaries and students who have not yet applied.

NSFAS says it aims to use these town visits to leverage equal opportunities for access to higher education and training in mainly disadvantaged communities.

Over the next few days, NSFAS officers will continue to be deployed across all nine provinces (see schedule below) with a particular focus on the Eastern Cape, Free State, North West, Northern Cape, and Western Cape – due to the low number of applications received in these provinces.

The scheme has to date received 365 922 applications nationwide, with KwaZulu-Natal, Gauteng, and Limpopo provinces continuing to lead with the highest number of applications.

NSFAS Administrator, Dr Randall Carolissen, said that although the number of applicants living with disability increased significantly over the prior year to over a 1000, it remains disappointingly low.

Carolissen said that NSFAS has prioritised engagements with relevant government departments and agencies to improve applications in this regard.  

Applicants who do not have access to computer facilities and smart phones, are urged to visit their nearest National Youth Development Agency (NYDA) offices, local libraries, Government Communication and Information System (GCIS), Thusong Centres, and Department of Basic Education (DBE) District Teacher Development Centres national wide, to apply for funding.

Outreach events for 2020 applications

Eastern Cape

20 November Port Elizabeth – Thembelihle High School
20 November Uitenhage – Gamble Street Secondary School
21 November Lady Frere – Nzimankulu High School
22 November Lusikisiki – Ingwe TVET College, Ngqungqushe Campus
25 November Mthata TBC
30 November East London TBC

Free State

23 November Thabo Mofutsanyana District, Qwaqwa
23 NovemberFezile Dabi District
24 – 30 NovemberLejweleputswa District, Welkom


26 November Randfontein TBC
28 November Reiger, Boksburg


23 November Ugu District


23 November Opposite Rooiberg Community Hall, Thabazimbi
29 November Masesha Primary School – in Bloodriver


30 November Ehlanzeni TBC

Northern Cape

27 November Namaqualand – SA van Wyk High School,
Aggeney High School & Regefeld High School
29 November Kuruman – Kuruman Primary School
30 November Kimberley – Mayibuye Centre

North West

20 November Taung
21 November Mathe – Walter Letsie High School
21 NovemberVryburg – Vryburg High School
23 November Taung – Mokgareng High School

Western Cape

23 November Dal Josaphat Athletics Stadium, Groenheuwel, Paarl
29 NovemberBeaufort West TBC
30 November Lwazi Enrichment Program, Hartzenberg Street, Parkersdam, Worcester
30 November George TBC
30 November Delft TBC
- Advertisement -spot_img

Related articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

MTN Online School Special Edition

Climate Change Special Edition

- Advertisement -
Gauteng Gambling Board

Latest articles