14.8 C
Sunday, December 5, 2021

Winners Of 49th Nedbank and Old Mutual Budget Speech Competition Announced


TWO high achievers, one from the University of Johannesburg and the other from the Nelson Mandela University, have flown their institutions’ flags high during the 49th Nedbank and Old Mutual Budget Speech Competition.

Felicia Mashimbye, from the University of Johannesburg, was announced as the overall postgraduate winner and was awarded R150 000, while Ndivhuwo Malange, a student of Nelson Mandela University, walked away with the top honour and R60 000 in prize money.  

This year, postgraduate students were asked to submit an essay, making the case for or against a change in the mandate, transformation and ownership of the South African Reserve Bank (SARB).

Undergraduate students, on the other hand, looked at whether the implementation of land expropriation without compensation in South Africa would unlock greater economic growth, or further damage it. 

Deputy Minister of Finance, Dr David Masondo, announced the winners of the 2020 Nedbank Old Mutual Budget Speech Competition at a virtual gala dinner on Friday.

“Investment in higher education has been of priority in the Budget Speech over the past few years and will remain a priority,” said Masondo.

‘The great minds and calibre of solutions exhibited in this competition are a testament to the need for further investments in cultivating brilliant future generations. National government will continue to prioritise the cultivation of people who are going to shape the future of our country. Being able to celebrate and recognise these finalists is an honour. We thank Nedbank and Old Mutual for their investment – not only in the youth, but also in South Africa.”

The competition was launched in 1972.

At first, the competition was only open to postgraduate students, but this changed in the early 90s and the undergraduate category was introduced.

“The youth in South Africa constitutes a third of our population. So, it’s obvious that they are key to unlocking the country’s prosperity, and Nedbank is constantly seeking ways of giving the youth an active voice as our future thought leaders,” said Mike Brown, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Nedbank.

Ian Williamson, CEO of Old Mutual South Africa, said: “We know that they have huge potential to innovate and find practical and workable solutions to real world challenges. For South Africa to start along the path of sound economic recovery, we need to make sure that we invest in developing a new generation of leaders, and that is where this competition plays a role.”

The 2020 winners are: 

Postgraduate winners Institution 
Felicia Mashimbye University of Johannesburg 
Stanley Mabuka University of Pretoria 
Luyanda Matomane University of Fort Hare 
Undergraduate winners Institution 
Ndivhuwo Malange Nelson Mandela University 
Adrian Joseph University of Cape Town 
Suvira Singh University of Johannesburg 


- Advertisement -spot_img

Related articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

MTN Online School Special Edition

Climate Change Special Edition

- Advertisement -
Gauteng Gambling Board

Latest articles